The Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health Committees

Communications Committee

This committee is responsible for the publication of the Foundation's newsletter, The Group Assets which is an insert within The Group Circle, AGPA's newsletter. Additionally, this committee overseas the content and written communication of the Group Foundation website and is responsible for identifying the appropriate venue for the reporting of research funded by the Group Foundation.


Karen Travis, LCSW, BCD, CGP, AGPA-F
7732 Goodwood Blvd 
Suite 209
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Office: (225) 927-7936
Fax: (225) 349-8928
Email: [email protected]

Development Committee

The Development Committee is responsible for raising the annual General Fund income of the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health, as well as its endowment funds. The Committee also seeks out opportunities for distinguished gifts from AGPA members and outside corporations and foundations, which will benefit the endowment of the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health.


Darryl L. Pure, PhD, ABPP, CGP, AGPA-F
30 N Michigan Avenue, Suite 525
Chicago, IL 60601
Office: (847) 498-6969
Fax: (847) 410-7236
Email: [email protected] 

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Fund Advisory Committee

This new committee's role is to recommend to the Board priorities for the newly established DEI fund and processes for dispersing funds.


Robert Hsiung, MD

122 S Michigan Ave

Ste 1025

Chicago, IL 60603-6264

Office: (773) 413-0227

Fax: (773) 496-6060

Email: [email protected]

Education Committee

The Education Committee supports professional development through continuing education, training, and collegial interaction. The Education Committee coordinates the Group Foundation-sponsored activities at the AGPA Annual Meeting, including early morning educational sessions, the Fellow’s Breakfast speaker, the S.R. Slavson Memorial Lecture, the Louis Ormont Lecture and the Mitchell Hochberg Memorial Public Education presentation.


Maryetta K. Andrews-Sachs, MA, LICSW, CGP, AGPA-F
4920 45th St NW
Washington, DC 20016-4041
Office: (202) 244-4087
Fax: (202) 966-6425
Email: [email protected]

Vice Chair:

Cheryl Kalter, PhD, LPC, CGP

‎4055 broadway‎

San Antonio, TX 78209‎

Office: (210) 771-1154‎

Email: [email protected]

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the Officers of the Foundation and the chairpersons of the various committees. The Executive Committee is charged with planning for the advancement of the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health’s activities and welfare. It reviews and evaluates the affairs of the Foundation; guides, oversees, and coordinates all Foundation Committees; recommends an annual budget to the Board of Directors; and exercises the powers of the Board of Directors in the intervals between its meetings.


Darryl L. Pure, PhD, ABPP, CGP, AGPA-F
30 N Michigan Avenue, Suite 525
Chicago, IL 60601
Office: (847) 498-6969
Fax: (847) 410-7236
Email: [email protected] 

Scholarship and Awards Committee

The Scholarship and Awards Committee oversees the selection process of qualified candidates who receive funding and recognition from the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health.  In addition to the Scholarships and the Endowed Awards, their tasks include calling for applications and identifying qualified candidates for the Honor Your Mentor Award, the Social Responsibility Award, and the Humanitarian Award.


Mary W. Nicholas, PhD, LCSW, CGP, AGPA-F
441 Orange Street
New Haven, CT 06511-6217
Office: (203) 776-4495
Fax: (203) 776-0217
E-mail: [email protected]


Rhea Pledger, MA, LPC, CGP
3724 Jefferson St.
Ste. 206
Austin, TX 78731
Office: (512) 471-3515
Email: [email protected] 

Search Committee

The Search Committee is charged with recommending persons with diverse skills and expertise to participate on the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health’s Board of Directors. Comprised of the President-Elect of AGPA, two elected members from the AGPA Board of Directors, and two members elected from the Group Foundation’s Board of Directors, the Search Committee is formed every two years.


Keith J. Rand, LMFT, CGP, AGPA-F*

‎8170 Beverly Boulevard

Los Angeles, CA 90048-4532

Office: (323) 655-4060

Fax: (888) 588-7305

Email: [email protected]

Study Grants Committee

The Study Grants Committee is responsible for enhancing the profession’s and the public’s awareness of the value of groups. It does this by supporting and initiating research and promoting the collection, interpretation and dissemination of information on group methods and group psychotherapy. The Committee works with the Corporate, Government and Foundation Grants Committee to explore and solicit outside grants that fulfill its objectives.


Gary M. Burlingame, PhD, CGP, AGPA-DF
238 TLRB
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT 84602-5800
Office: (801) 422-7557
Email: [email protected]