Alonso Award for Excellence in Psychodynamic Group Theory

The Alonso Award for Excellence in Psychodynamic Group Theory reasserts, in a concrete way, the value of original thinking about psychodynamic group theory. Individuals may qualify in a variety of ways. Suitable entries include doctoral dissertations, videos, published papers, and other creative research. Submissions of entries should be emailed or mailed to the Group Foundation office by November 1st of each year for consideration.  An annual cash prize of $500 is presented.

2023 Recipient


Ole Karkov Østergård, PhD
Catharina Reestorff Frandsen, MSc
Kristian Valbak, PhD


"Psychological Mindedness, Personality Structure, and Outcomes in Short-Term Group Analytic Psychotherapy"




2022 Recipients

Les R. Greene
"The Research-Practice Psychotherapy Wars:  The Case of Group Psychotherapy in the Treatment of PTSD"

Cheri L. Marmarosh
Editor, Special Issue of the International Journal for Group Psychotherapy on Rupture and Repair in Group Therapy

2021 Recipient

Leonardo M. Leiderman, PsyD, ABPP, CGP, AGPA-F
"Psychodynamic Group Therapy with Hispanic Migrants: Interpersonal, Relational Constructs in Treating Complex Trauma, Dissociation, and Enactments"

2020 Recipients

Les Greene, PhD, CGP, AGPA-DLF & Francis Kaklauskas, PsyD, AGPA-F
“Core Principles of Group Psychotherapy - An Integrated Theory, Research, and Practice Training Manual”

2019 Recipient

Bonnie Buchele, Ph.D., ABPP, CGP, AGPA-DLF
"Today's Bridge Between Psychoanalysis and the Group World."

2018 Recipient

Robert Grossmark, Ph.D.
"Narrating the Unsayable: Enactment, Repair and Creative Multiplicity in Group Psychotherapy"

2017 Recipients

Ravit Raufman, Phgoudy.D. and Haim Weinberg, Ph.D., CGP.
"To Enter One's Skin: The Concrete and Symbolic Functions of the Skin in the Social Unconscious, as Expressed in Fairy Tales and Group Therapy."

John R. Schlapobersky, BA, MSC.
"From The Couch To The Circle: Group-Analytic Psychotherapy In Practice."

2016 Recipient

Deborah C. Schwartz M.D., FRCPC, AGPA-F, CGP, Marcia S. Nickow Psy.D., CADC, CGP, Ric Arseneau M.D., FRCPC, FACP, CGP and Mary T. Gisslow M.D.
"A Substance Called Food: Long-term Psychodynamic Group Treatment for Compulsive Overeating."

2015 Recipient

William Sharp, PsyaD, LMHC, CGP
“Sticks and Stones May Break My Bones, But What About Words?”

2014 Recipient

Jacqueline L. Kinley, M.D., FRCPC, Diplomat ABPN and Sandra M. Reyno, Ph.D.
"Attachment Style Changes Following Intensive Short-term Group Pychotherapy."
2013 Recipient 

Les Greene, PhD, CGP, AGPA-DLF
"Group Therapist as Social Scientist, with Special Reference to the Psychodynamically Oriented Psychotherapist."                                                              

2012 Recipient

Leanh Nguyen, PhD
“The Ethics of Trauma:  Re-traumatization in Society’s Approach to the Traumatized Subject."                                                                                                          

2011 Recipients

Susan Gantt, Ph.D., ABPP, CGP, AGPA-F and Paul Cox, M.D., CGP, Editors
“Neurobiology and Building Interpersonal Systems:  Groups, Couples and Beyond” - a special issue of the IJGP

2010 Recipient

Robin Gayle, PhD, MFT 
"Co-Creating Meaningful Structures Within Long-Term Psychotherapy Group Culture" 

2009 Recipients

Harold Bernard, Ph.D., Gary Burlingame, Ph.D., Phillip Flores, Ph.D., Les Greene, Ph.D., Anthony Joyce, Ph.D., Joseph C. Kobos, Ph.D., Molyn Leszcz, MD, FRCPC, Rebecca R. MacNair-Semands, Ph.D., William E. Piper, Ph.D, Anne M. Slocum McEneaney, Ph.D., Diane Feirman, CAE
"Practice Guidelines for Group Psychotherapy"

2008 Recipients

Phyllis F. Cohen, Ph.D., PsyD, CGP, AGPA-F
"Anniversary Reactions in the Therapy Group"

Robert Grossmark, PhD
"The Edge of Chaos:  Encactment, Disruption, and Emergence in Group Psychotherapy"

2007 Recipients

Bonnie Buchele, Ph.D., CGP, AGPA-DF and Richard Beck, RCSW, BCD, CGP, AGPA-F
“In the Belly of the Beast: Traumatic Countertransference”

2006 Recipient

Kathleen Adams, PhD, CGP
“Falling Forever: The Price of Chronic Shock”

2005 Recipients

Earl Hopper, Ph.D., CGP, AGPA-F
“Traumatic Experience in the Unconscious Life of Groups”

“Vulnerable Moments: Deepening of the Therapeutic Process”
Martin S. Livingston, Ph.D., CGP

2004 Recipient

Richard Billow, Ph.D.
“Relational Group Psychotherapy: From Basic Assumptions to Passion”

2003 Recipient

Jennifer Johnson, Ph.D.
“An Integrated Picture of Therapeutic Relationships in AGPA Institute and Counseling Center Groups”

2002 Recipients

Robert H. Klein, Ph.D., CGP, AGPA-DLF and Victor L. Schermer, M.S., C.A.C, Editors
“Group Psychotherapy for Psychological Trauma”

2001 Recipients

Nancy Edwards, Ph.D., AGPA-LF & Seymour Rubenfeld, Ph.D., AGPA-F
For outstanding journal articles in group psychotherapy

2000 Recipients

Eleanor Counselman, Ed.D., CGP, AGPA-DLF, Jerome Gans, M.D., CGP, AGPA-F & Walker Shields, M.D., CGP, AGPA-F
For outstanding journal articles in group psychotherapy

Please direct ALL inquiries and application materials to:

Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health
25 East 21st Street, 6th Floor, New York, NY 10010
Telephone: 212-477-2677  |  Toll-Free: 877-668-AGPA (2472)  |  Fax: 212-979-6627

To make a contribution to the Group Foundation for Advancing Mental Health, click here.

More than one Google Analytics scripts are registered. Please verify your pages and templates.More than one Google Analytics scripts are registered. Please verify your pages and templates.