AGPA Committees and Task Forces

More than an information and networking resource, AGPA offers a window of opportunity for professional growth and recognition. Through active participation in AGPA, members can help shape policy that affects their careers. AGPA offers mentorship and leadership opportunities through involvement on its many committees and task forces.

If you are interested in joining a committee or task force, contact AGPA at

Standing Committees

AGPA Connect Committee

The AGPA Connect Committee is responsible for planning and bringing to fruition the scientific programs of AGPA Connect. The committee plans Institute sections, workshops, and open session events, such as panels, papers, and demonstrations.

Alexis Abernethy, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
Fuller Graduate School of Psychology
180 N Oakland Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91101
Office: (626) 524-5359
Fax: (626) 584-9630

Katie Steele, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
51728 Indiana State Route 933
South Bend, IN 46637
Office: (574) 287-3223
Fax: (574) 287-1667

Editorial Committee

This Committee is comprised of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Group Psychotherapy, which is selected by the Editor of the Journal and is subject to the approval of the AGPA Board of Directors. This Committee conducts the editorial affairs of the Journal.

Jill Paquin, Ph.D.
Chatham University
6585 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Office: (412) 365-1569

Fellowship and Awards Committee

Members of the Fellowship and Awards Committee review candidates for fellowship in order to recognize members who have made meritorious contributions to group psychotherapy. The Committee also recommends the presentation of awards and honors to individuals or groups who may have made a significant contribution to the mental health field. Committee members must be Fellows of AGPA.

Barbara S. Ilfeld, MSN, RNCS, CGP, FAGPA
218 Hidden Lake Loop, PO Box 2160
Olympic Valley, CA 96146-2160
Office: (530) 581-3567
Fax: (530) 583-6157

Nancy Kelly, Ph.D., MSSW, CGP, FAGPA
2925 Viale Seravezza
Santa Fe, NM 87505-5307
Office: (512) 458-4646

Keith J. Rand, MA, MFT, CGP, FAGPA
8170 Beverly Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90048-4532
Office: (323) 655-4060

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee is charged with the task of both retaining current members and finding new ones.  Additionally, the Membership Committee serves as the welcoming arm of the organization for new members and first time Annual Meeting attendees.  This Committee also brings issues of membership concerns to the attention of the Board of Directors.

Paul Berkelhammer, MA, LMHC, CGP
511 28th Ave East
Seattle, WA 98112
Office: (206) 720-1500 x2

Mary Krueger, MSEd, LCPC, CGP, FAGPA
2615 3 Oaks Road, Ste. 1C6
Cary, IL 60013-6125
Office: (847) 421-6152

Shunda McGahee, MD, CGP
210 Winthrop Rd., #14
Brookline, MA 02445
Office: (617) 626-9610

Nominating Committee

Four members are elected every two years by the membership to the Nominating Committee. These individuals, along with the Immediate Past President, prepare the slate of candidates for officers and the Board of Directors.

Acting Chair: 
Molyn Leszcz, M.D., FRCPC, CGP, DFAGPA
Mt. Sinai Hospital, #925
600 University Avenue
Toronto, ON M5G 1X5
Office: (416) 586-4800 x4555

Public Affairs Committee

The Public Affairs Committee advocates health care issues in relevant public and social policy arenas by disseminating information about group psychotherapy theory and practice and the Association itself. The Committee also maintains relationships and communicates with other professional organizations that address such issues as standards setting, service delivery systems, legal rights, ethics, privileges and responsibilities, third-party coverage, and other mental health issues that may be of concern to AGPA members. 

Molyn Leszcz, MD, FRCPC, CGP, DFAGPA*
Mt. Sinai Hospital #925
600 University Avenue
Toronto ON M5G 1X5
Office: (416) 586-4800 x4555

Farooq Mohyuddin, MD, CGP
1000 Duke Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Office: (703) 625-8444
Fax: (703) 683-0431

Kathleen H. Ulman, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
17 Elm St.
Boxford, MA 01921
Office: (978) 887-6040
Fax: (978) 887-8977

Task Forces

Community Outreach Task Force

This group is charged with establishing and executing community outreach programs to provide professional assistance to diverse group populations in the aftermath of traumatic events.

Craig Haen, Ph.D., RDT, LCAT, CGP, FAGPA
510 North Broadway
White Plains, NY 10603
Office: (917) 439-7892

Suzanne Phillips, Psy.D., ABPP, CGP, FAGPA
22 Norwood Road
Northport, NY 11768
Office: (631) 757-6459

e-Learning Task Force

Responsible for the planning and development of alternative continuing educational opportunities apart from AGPA Connect such as teleconferences, webinars, audio tapes, on-line courses and home study materials.


Janice Moore Morris, Ph.D., ABPP, CGP, FAGPA
8140 N. Mo Pac Expy, Building 3, Suite 225
Austin, TX 78759
Office: (512) 346-2332, ext. 5
Fax: (512) 346-2284

Haim Weinberg, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
3010 I Street
Sacramento, CA 95816
Office: (916) 212-6424
Fax: (916) 489-4612

Newsletter Task Force

This Task Force is responsible for overseeing the publication of AGPA’s bi-monthly newsletter, The Group Circle. Its members include the Editorial Staff of The Group Circle, who are selected by the Editor of the Circle.

Steven Van Wagoner, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
2440 M Street NW, Suite 429
Washington, DC 20037
Office: (202) 296-5299
Fax: (202) 223-3939

Science to Service Task Force

This group works to integrate research and clinical practice, to formulate practice guidelines for group psychotherapy, to study the feasibility of a group therapy practice research network, to identify/develop evidence-based group therapy practices/treatments and to recommend educational programs that support the teaching/dissemination of evidence-based group therapy methods.

Les R. Greene, Ph.D., CGP, LFAGPA
35 Laurel Road
Hamden, CT 06517-4019
Office: (203) 932-5711 x5173

Rebecca MacNair-Semands, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
UNC Charlotte
158 Atkins, Counseling Center
Charlotte, NC 28223
Office: (704) 687-0324
Fax: (704) 687-6343

Martyn Whittingham, Ph.D., CGP, FAGPA
8032 Quail Meadow Ln
West Chester, OH 45069-1990

Special Interest Group (SIG) Task Force

The SIG Task Force promotes the development of Special Interest Groups and provides a forum for supporting SIG activities.

M. Sophia Aguirre, PhD, CGP
132 E Broadway, Suite 500
Eugene, OR 97401
Office: (541) 357-8513

Kathleen Ault, NP, CGP, FAGPA
1 Gustave L Levy Pl, #1228
Mount Sinai Med Center
New York, NY 10029-6500
Office: (212) 241-6313

Eri Bentley, PhD, CGP
0115 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322-0115
Office: (435) 797-1012

More than one Google Analytics scripts are registered. Please verify your pages and templates.